top of page

A hobby versus creating a business



" ... And something about the way she touched the hem (of her dress) made me ask if she made it, and if she was beaming before, now she was radiant: “Yes!” she replied.

“Wow!” I said. “It’s gorgeous. Do you have an Etsy shop or…?” And suddenly, it was like all the light went out of the room. She looked down despairingly. “No,” she sighed. “Everyone keeps telling me I should, but I just wouldn’t know where to start.” I recognized the look of a woman suddenly overwhelmed by people’s expectations of her. ..." 


I have to admit that I was intrigued by the title of this article. And after reading it, I loved the content and the message. It’s a reminder, something we need to understand, that just because we love to do something, just because we are passionate about something, just because we are good at doing something, it does not mean that we would want to make this our job, an obligation or something we have to do each and every day.


I have a hobby. It’s oil painting and it is something that gives me a lot of relaxation and enjoyment. I’ve also realized, that I don’t ever want to do this as a living. I want to retain the joy, the relaxation, and never add an obligation to my passion. Now, this being said, I think a distinction needs to be made between a hobby, and a passion. I have a hobby of painting. My passion is feeling the texture and letting the paint do its work. My passion and my job are to find a way to inspire and create awareness and people so that really they can find a path that best suits them in as well create happiness that they didn’t have before. That passion is actually translated into a coaching and training business. It’s not translated into my painting business. The two are distinct. The two are separate. And the two will remain so.


Please take a look at this article as it’s a great reminder that just because we're passionate about something just, just because we can create a business, does not necessarily mean that we should create a business, and we want to create a business. Read the complete article here.


A lot of reflection has to go into looking at creating a side hustle, a weekend hustle, or even a full-time business. It’s upon this reflection that we're able to translate truly translate, the things that we want to do and are willing to do day in and day out no matter the hassle.

Thank you to Molly Conway for the article. 

3 views

Comments


bottom of page